South Carolina Theft and Shoplifting Classes

If you're looking for a South Carolina online shoplifting class, it's important to know your South Carolina theft laws. This can help you understand more about your offense.

Please note that the South Carolina theft laws displayed on this page are to help you to understand your state South Carolina theft, shoplifting and stealing laws. While we have made every attempt to show the latest version of South Carolina theft laws, we do not guarantee its accuracy. This page is not a substitute for legal advice from an attorney. We suggest that you find an appropriate lawyer for more information about South Carolina theft laws.

  • 4 Hour South Carolina Theft and Shoplifting Class — $99.00 — Register Now
  • 8 Hour Theft and Shoplifting Class — $149.00 — Register Now
  • 16 Advanced Shoplifting Class — $249.00 — Register Now
  • 24 Advanced Shoplifting Class — $349.00 — Register Now

South Carolina Theft Laws

SECTION 16-13-30. Petit larceny; grand larceny.

(A) Simple larceny of any article of goods, choses in action, bank bills, bills receivable, chattels, or other article of personalty of which by law larceny may be committed, or of any fixture, part, or product of the soil severed from the soil by an unlawful act, or has a value of two thousand dollars or less, is petit larceny, a misdemeanor, triable in the magistrates court or municipal court, notwithstanding the provisions of Sections 22-3-540, 22-3-545, 22-3-550, and 14-25-65. Upon conviction, the person must be fined not more than one thousand dollars, or imprisoned not more than thirty days.

(B) Larceny of goods, chattels, instruments, or other personalty valued in excess of two thousand dollars is grand larceny. Upon conviction, the person is guilty of a felony and must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not more than:

(1) five years if the value of the personalty is more than two thousand dollars but less than ten thousand dollars;

(2) ten years if the value of the personalty is ten thousand dollars or more.

SECTION 16-13-35. Presumed value of credit card subject to larceny.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, in any criminal prosecution where a credit card currently in force is the subject of a larceny, the value of the same shall be prima facie presumed to be greater than fifty dollars.

As used in this section "credit card" shall mean an identification card, credit number, credit device or other credit document issued to a person by a business organization which permits such person to purchase or obtain goods, property or services on the credit of such organization.

SECTION 16-13-40. Stealing of bonds and the like.

(A) It is unlawful for a person to steal or take by robbery a bond, warrant, bill, or promissory note for the payment or securing the payment of money belonging to another.

(B) A person who violates the provisions of this section is guilty of a:

(1) misdemeanor triable in magistrates court or municipal court, notwithstanding the provisions of Sections 22-3-540, 22-3-545, 22-3-550, and 14-25-65, if the instrument stolen or taken has a value of two thousand dollars or less. Upon conviction, the person must be fined not more than one thousand dollars, or imprisoned not more than thirty days;

(2) felony and, upon conviction, must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not more than five years if the value of the instrument stolen or taken is more than two thousand dollars but less than ten thousand dollars;

(3) felony and, upon conviction, must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not more than ten years if the instrument stolen or taken has a value of ten thousand dollars or more.

SECTION 16-13-50. Stealing livestock; confiscation of motor vehicle or other chattel.

(A) A person convicted of the larceny of a horse, mule, cow, hog, or any other livestock is guilty of a:

(1) felony and, upon conviction, must be imprisoned not more than ten years or fined not more than twenty-five hundred dollars, or both, if the value of the livestock is ten thousand dollars or more;

(2) felony and, upon conviction, must be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than five hundred dollars, or both, if the value of the livestock is more than two thousand dollars but less than ten thousand dollars;

(3) misdemeanor triable in magistrates court or municipal court, notwithstanding the provisions of Sections 22-3-540, 22-3-545, 22-3-550, and 14-25-65, if the value of the livestock is two thousand dollars or less. Upon conviction, the person must be fined not more than one thousand dollars, or imprisoned not more than thirty days, or both.

(B) A motor vehicle or other chattel used by or found in possession of a person engaged in the commission of a crime under this section is subject to confiscation and must be confiscated and sold under the provisions of Section 27-21-10.

SECTION 16-13-60. Stealing dogs.

(1) It shall be unlawful for any person to steal a dog in which any other person has a right of property.

(2) Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined in an amount not to exceed five hundred dollars or imprisoned for a term not to exceed six months, or both, in the discretion of the court.

SECTION 16-13-65. Aquaculture operations; stealing or damaging products or facilities.

(A) All wildlife including finfish, shellfish, crustacean, and plant species held and cultivated by bonafide aquaculture operations remain the private property of the culturist until sold, traded, or bartered.

(B) It is unlawful for a person to steal or attempt to steal or otherwise take without prior authorization any cultured wildlife including finfish, shellfish, crustacean, or plants from a bonafide aquaculture operation, posted as such, in this State.

(C) It is unlawful for a person to transfer, damage, vandalize, poison, or attempt to transfer, damage, vandalize, or poison the product or facilities of a bonafide aquaculture operation, posted as such, in this State. No person may cast or cause to be cast poison, impurities, or other substances which are injurious to aquaculture species into the waters or water supply of a bonafide aquaculture operation, posted as such, in this State. No person may attempt to impair or impede an aquaculturist or his employees while in pursuit of lawful activities associated with aquaculture.

Nothing in this section precludes the enforcement of or the applicability of a statute contained in Title 50.

SECTION 16-13-66. Penalties for violating Section 16-13-65.

(A) A person violating the provision of Section 16-13-65 is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction:

(1) for the first offense, must be fined an amount not to exceed one thousand dollars or imprisoned for a term not to exceed one year, or both, and shall pay restitution to the culturist an amount determined by the court. Notwithstanding the provisions of Sections 22-3-540, 22-3-545, 22-3-550, and 14-25-65, an offense punishable under this item may be tried in magistrates or municipal court.

(2) for a second offense, must be fined an amount not to exceed two thousand dollars or imprisoned for a term not less than two months and thirty days community service nor more than one year, or both, and shall pay restitution to the culturist an amount determined by the court. Furthermore, all equipment, including, but not limited to, vehicles, fishing devices, coolers, and nets must be seized and forfeited to the court.

(3) for a third or subsequent offense, must be fined an amount not to exceed five thousand dollars or imprisoned for a term not less than six months nor more than two years, or both, and shall pay restitution to the culturist an amount determined by the court. Furthermore, all equipment, including, but not limited to, vehicles, fishing devices, coolers, and nets must be seized and forfeited to the court.

(B) If the value of such property stolen or damaged is less than two hundred dollars, the case shall be tried in magistrates court or municipal court, notwithstanding the provisions of Sections 22-3-540, 22-3-545, 22-3-550, and 14-25-65, and the punishment shall be a fine of not more than one thousand dollars or imprisonment for not more than thirty days, or both.

SECTION 16-13-70. Stealing of vessels and equipment pertaining thereto; payment of damages.

(A) It is unlawful for a person to steal, take away, or let loose any boat, piragua, or canoe; or steal or take away any grappling, painter, rope, sail, or oar from any landing or place where the owner or person in whose service or employ the thing stolen, taken away, or let loose was last attached or laid, except boats or canoes let loose from another boat, canoe, or vessel.

(B) A person who violates the provisions of this section is guilty of a:

(1) felony and, upon conviction, must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not more than ten years if the value of the property is ten thousand dollars or more;

(2) felony and, upon conviction, must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not more than five years if the value of the property is more than two thousand dollars but less than ten thousand dollars;

(3) misdemeanor triable in magistrates court or municipal court, notwithstanding the provisions of Sections 22-3-540, 22-3-545, 22-3-550, and 14-25-65, if the value of the property is two thousand dollars or less. Upon conviction, the person must be fined not more than one thousand dollars or imprisoned not more than thirty days.

(C) In addition to the punishment specified in this section, the person must make good to the person injured all damages sustained and, if the matter be a trespass only, the person committing the offense shall make good to the person injured all damages that accrued.

SECTION 16-13-80. Larceny of bicycles.

The larceny of a bicycle is a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, the person must be punishable at the discretion of the court. When the value of the bicycle is less than two thousand dollars, the case is triable in magistrates court or municipal court, notwithstanding the provisions of Sections 22-3-540, 22-3-545, 22-3-550, and 14-25-65, and, upon conviction, the person must be fined not more than one thousand dollars or imprisoned not more than thirty days.

SECTION 16-13-100. Stealing crude turpentine.

Whoever shall steal any crude turpentine of the value of five dollars, whether dipped or scraped from the trees or not or whether barreled or not, from any place whatsoever shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, on conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars or imprisonment not exceeding thirty days.

You might also be interested in South Carolina Theft and Shoplifting Classes.

South Carolina Theft Class

  • Class is Completely Online
  • Accepted Throughout the Nation
  • Available Anytime
  • Completion Certificate Shipped Free
  • Superior Customer Support
  • Free Online Enrollment Verification
  • Free Certificate Shipping
  • Instant Access
  • Written and Designed by Professionals
  • 100% Guaranteed
Register Now

Secure Registration

Your registration with our Online Shoplifting & Theft Class will be processed using our secure credit card processing service. Our site is certified PCI Compliant by McAfee.

We accept most major credit cards

Member of the better business bureau
McAfee certified secure